Generic Task Sequence vs. OS Deployment Task Sequence – Inside the _SMSTSType Variable

When creating ConfigMgr task sequences you learn that ConfigMgr assigns different types to them. This type is available as the _SMSTSType task sequence variable during deployment, and also available in the ConfigMgr database, as the TS_Type column in the vSMS_TaskSequencePackage view. The values are:

  • 1: A generic task sequence
  • 2: An OS deployment task sequence

Credits: Thanks to Boushev Gleb for the initial find

But what really determines how a Task Sequence gets tagged with 1 or 2? Well, the task sequence will set to type 2 (OSD) if it has any of the following actions:

  • General / Join Domain or Workgroup
  • General / Restart Computer (configured for restarting into “The boot image assigned to this task sequence”)
  • Disks / Format and Partition Disk
  • User State / Request State Store
  • User State / Release State Store
  • Images / Apply Operating System Image
  • Images / Setup Windows and ConfigMgr

Note: At least the Restart Computer action can be configured the right way, and be disabled, the task sequence will stil be flagged as an OSD type task sequence.

Task Sequence with disabled Restart Computer action.
The TS_Type column in the vSMS_TaskSequencePackage view.
About the author

Johan Arwidmark

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
John Delise
John Delise
1 month ago

Thats the What, what about the why? 1 or 2?